FeaturedHorse Racing

143rd Preakness Stakes Odds: Justify Favored Over the Field

143Rd Preakness

Justify Favored Over the Field in 143rd Preakness Stakes

Justify is ready for the 143rd Preakness Stakes. After an impressive victory in the muddiest Kentucky Derby in history, Justify is an early 1/2 favourite on the horse racing futures market for the 2018 Preakness Stakes.

Baltimore’s Pimlico Race Course will host the 143rd Run for the Black-Eyed Susans on Saturday, May 19; coverage on NBC begins at 5 PM ET, with a scheduled post time of 6:20 PM.

Bet on horse racing at Bovada and get a free 50% bonus.

Justify was the 3/1 Morning-Line favourite for the Kentucky Derby. He didn’t disappoint despite the heaviest rainfall ever recorded on Derby Day. The Bob Baffert-trained colt won by 2 ½ lengths over Good Magic (12/1), followed by Audible (8/1) and pace-setter Instilled Regard (50/1).

This superfecta paid out a healthy $19,618.20 on a $1 ticket.

Baffert has already confirmed that Justify will race in the Preakness Stakes. It is the second jewel of North American horse racing’s Triple Crown. At press time, the Derby winner is available at 7/5 to sweep the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes.

Audible and Good Magic are Justify’s top threats at Pimlico, although neither has been confirmed to appear. Notables on the Preakness futures market include May Boy Jack (16/1), Diamond King (16/1), Runaway Ghost (18/1) and Hofburg (18/1).


The 2017 Preakness Stakes: Final Results

The winner of the 142nd running of the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland was Cloud Computing. Here are the results for each horse in order of their finish.

Finish Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Cloud Computing Chad Brown Javier Castellano
2 Classic Empire Mark Casse Julien Leparoux
3 Senior Investment Kenny McPeek Channing Hill
4 Lookin at Lee Steve Asmussen Corey Lanerie
5 Gunnevera Antonio Sano Mike Smith
6 Multiplier Brendan Walsh Joel Rosario
7 Conquest Mo Money Miguel Hernandez Jorge Carreno
8 Always Dreaming Todd Pletcher John Velazquez
9 Hence Steve Asmussen Florent Geroux
10 Term of Art Doug O’Neill Jose Ortiz

Everything You Need to Know About the Preakness Stakes

What Is the Preakness Stakes?

The Preakness Stakes is the second race in North America’s Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing, held two weeks after the Kentucky Derby. The Belmont Stakes is three weeks after the Preakness. The Preakness is a Grade 1 race open to three-year-old Thoroughbreds, with males carrying 126 pounds (jockey included) and females carrying 121 pounds.

Inaugurated in 1873 and named after one of the top racehorses of the time, the Preakness is also known as the Run for the Black-Eyed Susans, the state flower of Maryland where the race takes place.

When Is the 2018 Preakness Stakes?

The 143rd Preakness Stakes will be run on Saturday, May 19.

Where Is the 2018 Preakness Stakes?

Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland has been the home of the Preakness every year since 1909. Pimlico played host to the inaugural race in 1873; Morris Park took over in 1890, then after a three-year hiatus, Gravesend Race Track hosted the race from 1894 through 1908.

What Time Is the 2018 Preakness Stakes?

Post time for the 2018 Preakness Stakes is 6:20 PM ET.

Where Can I Watch the 2018 Preakness Stakes?

NBC will provide the television coverage for the Preakness beginning at 5 PM ET.

Preakness Stakes Betting Facts

  • Secretariat holds the record for the Preakness Stakes at its current distance of 1 3/16 miles, winning the 1973 race in 1:53.00. He was originally clocked at 1:55.00, but that time was disputed and finally corrected in June 2012.
  • Smarty Jones (2004) holds the record for largest margin of victory at 11 ½ lengths.
  • Five fillies have won the Preakness Stakes, Rachel Alexandra being the most recent in 2009.
  • Twelve horses (including American Pharoah in 2015) have won the Belmont Stakes after winning both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness. Another 23 horses (including California Chrome in 2014) have failed to complete the Triple Crown.
  • R. Wyndham Walden holds the trainer’s record for Preakness wins with seven; Walden also trained five consecutive champions between 1878 and 1882.
  • Eddie Arcaro holds the jockey’s record for Preakness wins with six, riding Triple Crown winners Whirlaway in 1941 and Citation in 1948.

– Survivor won the inaugural Preakness Stakes in 1873, traveling 1 ½ miles and beating six other horses to win by 10 lengths.

  • In 1890 at Morris Park, and again from 1910-15 at Pimlico, the Preakness was run under handicap conditions with no age restrictions. These races were referred to as the Preakness Handicap.
  • Master Derby (1975) was the longest shot to win the Preakness at 23/1, defeating the Kentucky Derby winner and even-money favorite Foolish Pleasure by one length.
  • The maximum field of horses at the Preakness Stakes is 14. The first seven entries are determined by graded stakes earnings, the next four by earnings in non-restricted races, and the remaining three by earnings in all races. However, priority is given to any horse that finishes in the top five at the Kentucky Derby.
  • The purse at the inaugural Preakness Stakes was $3,000. This year, it will be $1.5 million.

Get your 142rd Preakness odds at Bovada today.




Dirty has been an employee or owner of some of the top online sports gambling forums since 1998. He worked at EOG.com from it's inception until 2008 when he left and opened GamblingIQ and then in 2012 opened Handicappers Hidaway. He has written hundreds af articles over the years and always has his "Dirty Dozen" College Football poll up starting the first week of October.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x